Announcing incoming WSU Alumni Association board members and officers

The Wayne State University Alumni Association has named new board members for 2019-21 and officers for 2019-20. Board members play an essential role in guiding alumni relations efforts, programs and initiatives, serving as proud ambassadors of WSU. In addition to being alumni, all incoming board members have been previously involved at Wayne State through volunteerism and philanthropy. All terms begin October 1.


Newly selected board members:

Najwa Abouhassan
Bachelor of Science in Computer and Electrical Engineering ’07
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering ’11
Engineering Supervisor, DTE Energy

Paul Mack
Master of Social Work ’11
Founding Partner and Board President, Intertwined LCC and Intertwined Family Foundation

Abhijit Nikhade
Master of Science in Industrial Engineering ’16
Data Product and Renewable Energy Consultant-APM, GE Renewable Energy

Zhongcong Xie, M.D.
Doctor of Philosophy in Pharmaceutical Sciences ’94 
Henry Knowles Beecher Professor of Anesthesia, Harvard University
Director, Geriatric Anesthesia Research Unit
Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital


Newly elected board officers:

Sandy Colvin, Incoming President
Bachelor of Arts in Accounting ’84
Juris Doctor ’89
Attorney and CPA, Retired

Robert Reaves, Incoming Vice President
Bachelor of Arts in Public Relations ’11
Master of Business Administration ’15
Director of Accreditation, WSU School of Medicine

Mary Jenkins-Williams, Incoming Secretary
Master of Education ’97
Certificate in Education ’03
Educational Consultant, Jenkins-Williams Institute for Change
Assistant Principal, Wayne-Westland Community Schools

Back to listing